SAT scores & admissions · updated 2026

University of Wisconsin-Madison logo

University of Wisconsin-Madison SAT scores, admissions & trends

Madison, WisconsinPublicSAT: considered, not required

Admitted students who enrolled at University of Wisconsin-Madison typically score between 1380 and 1520 on the SAT (the middle 50%); the 75th percentile, 1520, is a strong target. The school admits about 45% of applicants. Reading & Writing runs 670–740 and Math 710–780. Data: fall 2024 entering class.

Typical SAT scores for enrolled students

Middle 50% · fall 2024 entering class

Total1380–1520
R&W670–740
Math710–780

How your score compares

Slide to set your score
What ABOVE, WITHIN and BELOW RANGE mean
  • Above range — your score beats the 75th percentile of enrolled students (1520).
  • Within range — your score sits between 1380 and 1520.
  • Below range — your score is under the 25th percentile (1380).

University of Wisconsin-Madison at a glance

45%

Admit rate

−15.2 pts since 2021

36,902 undergrads

8,514

First-year class

+1% since 2021

29%

Yield

96%

First-year retention
$42,103 out-of-state

$11,603

In-state tuition

$17,354

Average net price

90%

6-yr graduation rate

$73,792

Median earnings
Where this data comes from

U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard (fall 2024 entering class for admit rate and the SAT ranges; retention, graduation and net price from the latest cohorts in the same release). First-year class size and yield come from the IPEDS Admissions survey for fall 2024; total undergraduates from IPEDS Fall Enrollment. Median earnings are for students who received federal aid, measured ten years after they first enrolled.

How has University of Wisconsin-Madison's admit rate changed?

Applications are up 23% since 2021, while the admit rate has moved from 60.4% to 45.2%.

Where this data comes from

NCES IPEDS Admissions survey (applicants, admits, enrolled first-time students) for fall 2018–2024; the admit rate is admits ÷ applicants for each year. Fall 2024 is not yet published by IPEDS, so the latest year shown is 2024; the Scorecard's admit rate in the tiles above (45%) is for the fall 2024 entering class. The callout compares 2021 — the last year before test-optional application volumes settled — with 2024. The chart shows 2018–2024; ten years are stored.

Testing deadlines for 2026–27 applicants

The last SAT date this school counts, and how it takes scores. Read from the school's own admissions pages; the school's page is the final word.

Last test date for the early roundNot stated on the school’s page
Last test date for Regular DecisionNot stated on the school’s page
Scores accepted after the application deadlineNot stated on the school’s page
Self-reported scores acceptedNo
Superscores the SATNo

Read on 2026-09-22 from the school’s testing page and deadlines page. Dates move each cycle; confirm on the school’s page before you register.

Similar schools

Similar colleges based on SAT range, admit rate, and location.

Want to aim for the top of University of Wisconsin-Madison's SAT range?

Set 1520 as your target, and Study Scout builds a personalized daily plan to help you work toward it.

Free for 10 days, no credit card. Nothing is charged unless you pick a plan.

Where this data comes from: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, data release June 10, 2026 — SAT ranges are the 25th–75th percentiles of enrolled first-year students, fall 2024 entering class; total-score ranges are the sum of the section percentiles. Admissions history: NCES IPEDS Admissions and Fall Enrollment surveys. School marks are the property of their respective institutions and are used for identification only.

More: all colleges in Wisconsin · colleges by state · SAT score lookup