SAT scores & admissions · updated 2026

University of Houston-Downtown logo

University of Houston-Downtown SAT scores, admissions & trends

Houston, TexasPublicSAT: considered, not required

Admitted students who enrolled at University of Houston-Downtown typically score between 940 and 1110 on the SAT (the middle 50%); the 75th percentile, 1110, is a strong target. The school admits about 90% of applicants. Reading & Writing runs 480–560 and Math 460–550. Data: fall 2024 entering class.

Typical SAT scores for enrolled students

Middle 50% · fall 2024 entering class

Total940–1110
R&W480–560
Math460–550

How your score compares

Slide to set your score
What ABOVE, WITHIN and BELOW RANGE mean
  • Above range — your score beats the 75th percentile of enrolled students (1110).
  • Within range — your score sits between 940 and 1110.
  • Below range — your score is under the 25th percentile (940).

University of Houston-Downtown at a glance

90%

Admit rate

−4.9 pts since 2021

12,555 undergrads

1,181

First-year class

−13% since 2021

20%

Yield

67%

First-year retention
$17,548 out-of-state

$7,708

In-state tuition

$10,542

Average net price

33%

6-yr graduation rate

$53,551

Median earnings
Where this data comes from

U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard (fall 2024 entering class for admit rate and the SAT ranges; retention, graduation and net price from the latest cohorts in the same release). First-year class size and yield come from the IPEDS Admissions survey for fall 2024; total undergraduates from IPEDS Fall Enrollment. Median earnings are for students who received federal aid, measured ten years after they first enrolled.

How has University of Houston-Downtown's admit rate changed?

Applications are up 7% since 2021, while the admit rate has moved from 94.8% to 90.0%.

Where this data comes from

NCES IPEDS Admissions survey (applicants, admits, enrolled first-time students) for fall 2018–2024; the admit rate is admits ÷ applicants for each year. Fall 2024 is not yet published by IPEDS, so the latest year shown is 2024; the Scorecard's admit rate in the tiles above (90%) is for the fall 2024 entering class. The callout compares 2021 — the last year before test-optional application volumes settled — with 2024. The chart shows 2018–2024; ten years are stored.

Testing deadlines for 2026–27 applicants

The last SAT date this school counts, and how it takes scores. Read from the school's own admissions pages; the school's page is the final word.

Last test date for the early roundNo early round
Last test date for Regular DecisionNot stated on the school’s page
Scores accepted after the application deadlineNot stated on the school’s page
Self-reported scores acceptedNot stated on the school’s page
Superscores the SATNot stated on the school’s page

Read on 2026-09-22 from the school’s testing page and deadlines page. Dates move each cycle; confirm on the school’s page before you register.

Similar schools

Similar colleges based on SAT range, admit rate, and location.

Want to aim for the top of University of Houston-Downtown's SAT range?

Set 1110 as your target, and Study Scout builds a personalized daily plan to help you work toward it.

Free for 10 days, no credit card. Nothing is charged unless you pick a plan.

Where this data comes from: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, data release June 10, 2026 — SAT ranges are the 25th–75th percentiles of enrolled first-year students, fall 2024 entering class; total-score ranges are the sum of the section percentiles. Admissions history: NCES IPEDS Admissions and Fall Enrollment surveys. School marks are the property of their respective institutions and are used for identification only.

More: all colleges in Texas · colleges by state · SAT score lookup